5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course

Plain-language guide for New Yorkers

5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course in New York: The Complete Guide

The 5-hour pre-licensing course is the class most new New York drivers take before they can book a road test. This guide explains who needs it, what it costs, how the MV-278 certificate works and what to do next, then ranks the providers where you can take it.

Updated October 2026 · How we rate

What the 5-hour course is

The 5-hour pre-licensing course is a short class on safe driving that New York State requires before you can take a DMV road test. The DMV describes it as a course of about five hours. You do not drive during it, and it is separate from the road test itself.

The rule is simple. On its pre-licensing course page, the DMV says new drivers must complete the course before taking a road test and applying for a license, unless they finish the 48-hour driver education program at a high school or college instead. You need a valid New York learner permit before you start, whichever format you pick.

What you receive at the end depends on the format. Live classes, in a classroom or on Zoom, end with a paper certificate called the MV-278. The automated online version has no paper certificate; the provider reports your completion to the DMV instead. The sections below take each of these in turn, and the About page explains how the ranking further down is ordered.

The short version: 5 steps from permit to road test

  1. Get your New York learner permit. The course requires a valid permit before you start. The DMV’s page on completing your pre-licensing requirements lists what comes with it, including the extra rules for drivers under 18.
  2. Choose a format and a provider. Live Zoom and classroom classes are open from age 16. The online self-paced course is for ages 18 and up with a photo permit. Zoom, classroom or online helps you decide.
  3. Attend the whole class. Plan on about five hours and keep your permit ready, because the school confirms your identity when you enroll and during the class. Providers expect you to stay from start to finish.
  4. Receive your certificate. A live class gives you a paper MV-278, valid for one year. An online course is reported to the DMV, usually within 24 to 48 hours. The MV-278 page has the details.
  5. Book your road test. Schedule online or by phone. The DMV says the earliest appointments are usually three to five weeks away and can reach ten weeks. Under 18, you must also wait six months after getting your permit. See booking your NY road test.

Where to take the 5-hour course

Thirteen providers, ordered by our editorial score. The Partner label marks the four schools we work with; every price and schedule comes from the provider’s own website, checked in October 2026.

1

Coreway Driving School

Live Zoom class from $40, with Brooklyn offices and a Spanish option

9.6/10
Price
From $40
Format
Live online (Zoom)
Languages
English, Spanish
Where
Brooklyn offices · class online

Coreway teaches the 5-hour course live on Zoom with a live instructor, not a recording. It is open to learners 16 and up, including junior permit holders, and runs English classes three times a week plus a Spanish class on select Sundays. The school has two Brooklyn offices and also books road tests and provides a car for the test.

What we like

  • Live Zoom class, ages 16+ including junior permits
  • Schedule shows 5 to 12 seats per class
  • MV-278 issued the next business day, with same-day digital confirmation
  • Road test booking from $20 and a car for the test at $110

Keep in mind

  • Classes run on fixed dates, so you book a seat ahead
  • Some dates are listed at $50 rather than $40, and card payments add a 2.9% fee
  • The Spanish class runs on select Sundays only

Best for: Learners who want a live Zoom class and Brooklyn offices for the paper certificate

2

NY 5-Hour Course

Flat $40 live class in English and Spanish, with borough-by-borough guidance

9.5/10
Price
$40
Format
Live online class
Languages
English, Spanish
Where
Online · all five boroughs

NY 5-Hour Course is a booking site for the live online 5-hour class. You choose a date from the posted schedule, reserve a seat with your name and phone number, and the site follows up to confirm the details. It serves learners in all five boroughs and has a full Spanish version.

What we like

  • $40 flat, with no extra charge for the certificate
  • Posted dates: Tuesday and Thursday 5 PM, Saturday 1 PM
  • Spanish class on select Sundays at 3 PM
  • Separate pages for Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, the Bronx and Staten Island

Keep in mind

  • Classes run on fixed dates rather than on demand
  • The Spanish class is offered on select Sundays only
  • Road test booking ($25 or $75) and the car ($115) cost extra

Best for: Learners who want a flat $40 price and plain guidance for their own borough

3

5 Hour Class NYC

Flat $40 live class, backed by articles and guides for each borough

9.4/10
Price
$40
Format
Live online class
Languages
English, Spanish
Where
Online · all five boroughs

5 Hour Class NYC offers the live online 5-hour class on posted dates: Tuesday and Thursday at 5 PM, Saturday at 1 PM, and a Spanish class on select Sundays at 3 PM. Reserving a seat takes a short form, and the site confirms the details afterward. It also carries articles and borough guides covering the five boroughs.

What we like

  • $40 flat, with no extra charge for the certificate
  • English classes plus a Spanish class on select Sundays
  • A library of articles and borough guides
  • Road test booking from $25 and a car for the test at $115

Keep in mind

  • Fixed class dates, so you choose a date and reserve a seat
  • The Spanish class runs on select Sundays only
  • Road test help and the car are separate fees

Best for: Learners who like to read up on their borough before they book

4

Take 5-Hour Course

Flat $40 live class: pick the nearest date and reserve your seat

9.3/10
Price
$40
Format
Live online class
Languages
English, Spanish
Where
Online · all five boroughs

Take 5-Hour Course lists the live online 5-hour class on a posted schedule: Tuesday and Thursday at 5 PM, Saturday at 1 PM and a Spanish class on select Sundays at 3 PM. You pick a date, reserve a seat with a short form, and the site confirms the details with you. It serves learners in all five boroughs and has a full Spanish version.

What we like

  • $40 flat, with no extra charge for the certificate
  • Several posted dates each week
  • Full Spanish version of the site
  • Borough pages and articles for all five boroughs

Keep in mind

  • Classes run on fixed dates, so a missed date means waiting for the next one
  • Spanish class on select Sundays only
  • Road test booking and the car for the test cost extra

Best for: Learners who want to get the class done by picking the nearest open date

5

Drive Rite Academy NY

Zoom classes on most days, plus a self-paced option, from Brooklyn

9.0/10
Price
$50
Format
Live online (Zoom)Online self-paced
Languages
Not stated
Where
Brooklyn · online

Drive Rite Academy NY teaches the 5-hour course live on Zoom on most days, in four time blocks that run from morning to late evening. It also lists a self-paced online course run by Online Traffic Safety. Both are priced at $50, and the paper MV-278 for Zoom classes can be mailed for $5 or picked up at the Brooklyn office.

What we like

  • Zoom classes on most days, in four time blocks (10–3, 12–5, 3–8 and 5–10 PM)
  • Live class from age 16 or self-paced online from age 18
  • MV-278 by mail for $5 or pickup in Brooklyn
  • Cancel or reschedule through your account or by phone

Keep in mind

  • The language of instruction is not stated
  • The self-paced option is 18+ with a photo permit and issues no paper MV-278
  • Expedited mail costs more than the $5 standard fee

Best for: Brooklyn learners who need a class on a specific weekday or time slot

6

Image Driving School

Classroom and Zoom classes in Canarsie, Brooklyn, from $45

8.8/10
Price
$45
Format
In-personLive online (Zoom)
Languages
Not stated
Where
Canarsie, Brooklyn (9621 Flatlands Ave)

Image Driving School runs the 5-hour course in a classroom at its Flatlands Avenue office in Canarsie on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10 to 3, and over Zoom on other days, including some evenings. The price is $45. The certificate is ready the next business day and is signed and collected at the office.

What we like

  • A classroom option for learners who prefer to attend in person
  • Zoom classes on other days and some evenings
  • $45 listed price
  • Zoom rules are spelled out: camera, microphone and a quiet place

Keep in mind

  • The certificate must be signed and collected at the office; no mail option is stated
  • The language of instruction is not stated
  • Reschedule with 24 hours’ notice; no refund for no-shows

Best for: Brooklyn learners who prefer a classroom or want to collect the certificate in person

7

New York Auto School

Live Zoom class in English and Spanish, with a Manhattan office

8.6/10
Price
$65
Format
Live online (Zoom)
Languages
English, Spanish
Where
Manhattan (369 Lexington Ave) · Westchester

New York Auto School teaches the 5-hour class live on Zoom on weekdays and weekends, in English and in Spanish. It has offices on Lexington Avenue in Manhattan and in Westchester, and lists free road test scheduling with the class. The price is $65, and the certificate is mailed to the address on your permit the next business day.

What we like

  • English and Spanish classes
  • Weekday and weekend classes
  • Certificate mailed the next business day, with overnight and certified options
  • Free road test scheduling with the class

Keep in mind

  • At $65 it is at the top of the price range in this directory
  • Late cancellations are charged in full under a 24-hour policy
  • Specific class days and times are not listed in detail

Best for: Manhattan and Westchester learners who want an English or Spanish Zoom class with a mailed certificate

8

Grand Prix Driving School

Daily live Zoom classes from an Upper East Side school, $60

8.5/10
Price
$60
Format
Live online (Zoom)
Languages
Not stated
Where
Upper East Side, Manhattan

Grand Prix Driving School teaches the course on Zoom with a live instructor, with classes offered every day in the morning and evening. Students attend the full session with the camera on, and there are no quizzes or final exam. The price is $60, and the school mails the MV-278 the next day.

What we like

  • Classes offered daily, morning and evening
  • Free cancellation or rescheduling with 24 hours’ notice
  • No quizzes or final exam; you attend the full session
  • MV-278 mailed out the next day

Keep in mind

  • The language of instruction is not stated
  • Camera must be on, and your Zoom name must match your permit
  • At $60 it costs more than the $40 to $50 charged by several providers

Best for: Manhattan learners who want a live class on any day of the week

9

Pre-Licensing Course LLC

Self-paced online course in English and Spanish for ages 18 and up

8.3/10
Price
$38 offer (regular $49)
Format
Online self-paced
Languages
English, Spanish
Where
Astoria, Queens · online

Pre-Licensing Course LLC, based in Astoria, Queens, offers the automated online version of the course and is on the DMV’s list of online providers. It is listed at a $38 offer price (regular $49), is available in English and Spanish, and is open to learners 18 and over with a photo learner permit. There is no paper MV-278: the provider reports your completion to the DMV.

What we like

  • On the DMV’s list of online pre-licensing course providers
  • Offer price of $38 (regular $49)
  • Available in English and Spanish
  • Finish within the 30-day window on your own schedule

Keep in mind

  • Ages 18+ with a photo permit; junior permit holders (DJ/MJ) are not eligible
  • No paper MV-278; completion posts to your DMV record in 24 to 48 hours
  • The offer price may change, so check the current price

Best for: Adults 18+ with a photo permit who want to complete the course online

10

National Traffic Safety Institute (NTSI)

Self-paced online course in English and Spanish, from a Staten Island base

8.1/10
Price
$44.95
Format
Online self-paced
Languages
English, Spanish
Where
Staten Island-based · online

National Traffic Safety Institute is on the DMV’s list of online pre-licensing providers and has a base in Staten Island. The course is self-paced, costs $44.95 and is available in English and Spanish. It is for learners 18 and over with a photo permit, and it produces no paper MV-278.

What we like

  • On the DMV’s list of online pre-licensing course providers
  • Available in English and Spanish
  • $44.95 listed price
  • Work through it on your own schedule within the 30-day window

Keep in mind

  • Ages 18+ with a photo permit; junior permit holders (DJ/MJ) are not eligible
  • No paper MV-278; completion posts to your DMV record in 24 to 48 hours
  • No live instructor or fixed class date

Best for: Adults 18+ who prefer an online course from a New York-based provider

11

Deshi Driving School

Zoom class at an Elmhurst, Queens school; classroom attendance also possible, $50

8.0/10
Price
$50
Format
Live online (Zoom)In-person
Languages
Not stated
Where
Elmhurst, Queens

Deshi Driving School in Elmhurst, Queens, currently teaches the course over Zoom and says students may also attend in the classroom. The price is $50, paid in cash at the office or by Venmo or Zelle. The MV-278 is signed and picked up at the office the next day.

What we like

  • Zoom class, with the option to attend in the classroom
  • Payment by cash, Venmo or Zelle
  • Certificate ready for pickup at the office the next day
  • Duplicate certificate fee is published ($20)

Keep in mind

  • Class days, times and languages are not stated
  • Refunds carry a 10% fee (minimum $10) and take 7 to 10 days
  • The certificate is collected in person; no mail option is stated

Best for: Queens learners who want to pay in cash and collect the certificate in person

12

Bronx Driving School

Zoom class by appointment at a Castle Hill, Bronx school, $65

7.8/10
Price
$65
Format
Live online (Zoom)
Languages
Not stated
Where
Castle Hill, Bronx

Bronx Driving School Corp, in Castle Hill, offers the 5-hour class over Zoom by appointment only, on Wednesdays at 6 PM and Saturdays at 11 AM. The price is $65, payable in cash or by card. The school does not state the class language or how the certificate is delivered.

What we like

  • Two weekly sessions: Wednesday evening and Saturday morning
  • Payment by cash or card
  • A Bronx-based school with an office in Castle Hill
  • Price and weekly sessions are listed on the school’s page

Keep in mind

  • At $65 it is at the top of the price range in this directory
  • Classes are by appointment only
  • The class language and certificate delivery are not stated

Best for: Bronx learners who want a local school and a Wednesday-evening session

13

Alyaa Driving School

Staten Island school with a $50 Zoom class and a $225 package with the car

7.7/10
Price
$50
Format
Live online (Zoom)
Languages
Not stated for the class
Where
Clove Road, Staten Island

Alyaa Driving School, on Clove Road in Staten Island, lists the 5-hour class on Zoom for $50. It also includes the class in a BASIC package at $225, with a 30-minute lesson, a car for the road test and road test scheduling. The school says its lessons are taught in English, Arabic and Spanish; it does not state the class language, schedule or certificate delivery.

What we like

  • Staten Island school with a $50 Zoom class
  • A $225 BASIC package adds a 30-minute lesson, the road test car and scheduling
  • Driving lessons offered in English, Arabic and Spanish
  • Published class price

Keep in mind

  • The class schedule is not published on the page we reviewed
  • The class language and certificate delivery are not stated
  • Package pricing means comparing what each bundle includes

Best for: Staten Island learners who want the class bundled with a lesson and the road test car

Compare prices, formats and certificates

The table lines up price, format, language and certificate handling so you can narrow the list before opening any single profile.

#ProviderScore PriceFormatLanguages MV-278 certificate
1 Coreway Driving School 9.6 From $40 Live online (Zoom) English, Spanish Paper MV-278 next business day: mail or Brooklyn pickup
2 NY 5-Hour Course 9.5 $40 Live online class English, Spanish MV-278 issued after you complete the class
3 5 Hour Class NYC 9.4 $40 Live online class English, Spanish MV-278 issued after you complete the class
4 Take 5-Hour Course 9.3 $40 Live online class English, Spanish MV-278 issued after you complete the class
5 Drive Rite Academy NY 9.0 $50 Live online (Zoom), Online self-paced Not stated Zoom: paper MV-278 by mail (+$5) or Brooklyn pickup; self-paced: reported to DMV
6 Image Driving School 8.8 $45 In-person, Live online (Zoom) Not stated Sign and pick up at the office the next business day
7 New York Auto School 8.6 $65 Live online (Zoom) English, Spanish Mailed to the permit address the next business day
8 Grand Prix Driving School 8.5 $60 Live online (Zoom) Not stated Mailed the next day
9 Pre-Licensing Course LLC 8.3 $38 offer (regular $49) Online self-paced English, Spanish No paper MV-278: completion reported to DMV (24–48 h)
10 National Traffic Safety Institute (NTSI) 8.1 $44.95 Online self-paced English, Spanish No paper MV-278: completion reported to DMV (24–48 h)
11 Deshi Driving School 8.0 $50 Live online (Zoom), In-person Not stated Sign and pick up at the office the next day
12 Bronx Driving School 7.8 $65 Live online (Zoom) Not stated Not stated
13 Alyaa Driving School 7.7 $50 Live online (Zoom) Not stated for the class Not stated

Prices and formats as published on each provider’s website in October 2026. Scores are our editorial assessment, not customer ratings.

Who has to take the course

The requirement reaches almost everyone applying for a New York driver license as a new driver. A 16-year-old with a junior permit takes it, and so does an adult who starts learning at 35. So does a newcomer whose license comes from a country other than Canada. Even a former New York driver can be asked to take it: the DMV says that once a license has been expired for two years or more, you apply for an original, and that includes a pre-licensing course.

A few people are exempt. Completing the 48-hour driver education program at a high school or college earns an MV-285 student certificate, which replaces the MV-278. A driver with a license from another U.S. state or from Canada can usually exchange it at a DMV office without taking the course, under the conditions on the DMV’s exchange page.

A quick rule of thumb: if you are about to get a New York license as a brand-new driver, plan on the course. If you already hold a license from somewhere, check the exceptions first. They are collected in our guide to who needs the 5-hour course.

Live Zoom, classroom or online

The DMV allows three formats. A classroom course is taught in person by a driving school, high school or college. A virtual classroom course is the same live class delivered by video: the instructor teaches in real time, students can ask questions as they would in a room, and the school checks identity at enrollment and throughout the class. Both live formats are open from age 16 and end with a paper MV-278.

The third format is an automated online course offered under a DMV pilot program. It is open from age 18 to learners with a valid New York photo learner permit, it is not available to junior permit holders, and you have 30 days from registration to finish. Most providers in the directory below teach a live Zoom class, and a few offer a self-paced option. Our page on Zoom, classroom or online matches each format to the kind of learner it suits.

What the course costs

The DMV does not list a price for the course; each school decides what to charge. Among the thirteen providers here, live classes cost between $40 and $65, and the online self-paced courses are listed between a $38 offer price and $50. The four Partner providers publish a clear number: $40 flat at NY 5-Hour Course, 5 Hour Class NYC and Take 5-Hour Course, and classes from $40 at Coreway, where some dates are listed at $50.

The class price is not always the whole bill. Some schools add a card processing fee, a mailing charge for the paper certificate or a fee for a duplicate. Help booking the road test and a car for the test are sold separately by several providers. The cost guide adds it all up, and the provider directory carries a short note on every school.

The MV-278 certificate

The MV-278 is the paper certificate that shows you completed the course. It is valid for one year from the day it is issued, and it has to be valid on the day you book your road test. If it lapses before you book, you take the course again. At the test you hand the original to the license examiner; copies are not accepted.

How the certificate reaches you depends on the school. Some mail it, some have you sign and collect it at an office, and Coreway offers both after issuing it the next business day. If you lose yours, the school that issued it replaces it and may charge a fee. Online students get something different, explained on our MV-278 page.

Taking the course in Spanish

A Spanish class is the same course and leads to the same MV-278. The DMV requires any course taught in a language other than English to say so, so a school that teaches in Spanish will state it. In this directory, Coreway, NY 5-Hour Course, 5 Hour Class NYC and Take 5-Hour Course run a Spanish class on select Sundays at 3 PM. New York Auto School teaches in English and Spanish, and Pre-Licensing Course LLC and NTSI offer self-paced courses in both languages for learners 18 and over.

Spanish sessions are scheduled less often than English ones, so look at upcoming dates early. Our guide to the course in Spanish lists the options, and this whole site is also available in Spanish through the language link at the top of the page.

After the course: the road test

With a valid MV-278 or MV-285 and your learner permit, you can book a road test online through the DMV scheduler or by phone at 1-518-402-2100. The DMV says the earliest appointments are usually three to five weeks out and can stretch to ten weeks in busy periods, so book as soon as the certificate is in hand. If you are under 18, you must also wait at least six months from the day you received your permit, and bring the signed MV-262 that records your supervised driving.

On test day, bring the physical permit, the original MV-278, a vehicle with valid registration, insurance and inspection, and a licensed driver to accompany you. Some providers will also book the appointment for you or supply a car for the test; prices and details are in our guide to booking your NY road test.

Frequently asked questions

What is the 5-hour pre-licensing course?

It is the course New York State requires of new drivers before they can take a DMV road test and apply for a license. The DMV describes it as about five hours long. Schools teach it in a classroom or live over Zoom, and providers on the DMV’s online list offer an automated version for learners 18 and over.

Do I take the course before or after getting my learner permit?

After. The DMV says you need a valid New York learner permit before you start the course, whichever format you choose. Schools use the permit to confirm who you are when you enroll and again during the class.

How much does the 5-hour course cost in New York City?

The DMV does not publish a price, so every school sets its own. In the thirteen-provider ranking above, live classes run from $40 to $65 and the online self-paced courses from a $38 offer price to $50. NY 5-Hour Course, 5 Hour Class NYC and Take 5-Hour Course list $40 flat, and Coreway lists classes from $40. The full breakdown, extras included, is on our cost page.

Can I take the 5-hour course on Zoom?

Yes. The DMV allows a virtual classroom version as long as it is live, in real time and taught by the school’s qualified instructor. It is open from age 16 and ends with the same paper MV-278 as a classroom class. Software that delivers the course without an instructor does not qualify. See Zoom, classroom or online for the differences.

Is there an online version I can finish on my own schedule?

There is an automated, self-paced version run by providers on the DMV’s online list. You must be 18 or older with a valid New York photo learner permit, junior (DJ/MJ) permit holders are not eligible, and you have 30 days from registration to finish. You do not receive a paper MV-278; the provider reports your completion to the DMV, usually within 24 to 48 hours.

How long is the MV-278 valid?

One year from the day it is issued, and it must still be valid on the day you book your road test. If it runs out first, you take the course again. At the test you hand the original to the examiner, and copies are not accepted.

How soon will I get my certificate?

It depends on the provider. Coreway issues the paper MV-278 the next business day with a same-day digital confirmation, then sends it by USPS mail or holds it for pickup at its Brooklyn office. Grand Prix and New York Auto School mail it the next day, while Image Driving School and Deshi have you sign and collect it at the office. Online students receive no paper certificate. The MV-278 page has the details.

Can I take the course in Spanish?

Yes. Coreway, NY 5-Hour Course, 5 Hour Class NYC and Take 5-Hour Course hold a Spanish class on select Sundays at 3 PM. New York Auto School teaches in English and Spanish, and Pre-Licensing Course LLC and NTSI have self-paced courses in both languages. A Spanish class is the same course and leads to the same MV-278. More on the course in Spanish.

What if I lose my MV-278?

Contact the school that issued it. The school replaces the certificate and may charge a fee; Coreway, for example, lists a $25 duplicate while the original is still valid. Ask the school before you consider retaking the course, because a replacement is the normal route.

How long after the course can I take my road test?

You can book as soon as you hold a valid certificate; online students wait until completion is recorded, usually 24 to 48 hours. The wait that matters is for an appointment, which the DMV says is usually three to five weeks away and up to ten weeks in busy periods. Under 18, you must also wait at least six months from the date you received your permit. Booking your road test covers the steps.